Refresh at British Vogue

britishvogue

British Vogue has won me over! American Vogue, not at all! “A Model Free Zone” is a great idea by the British editor:

British Vogue Debuts “Model-Free” Issue [British Vogue]
Upon picking up a copy of British Vogue’s November issue, which features Emily Blunt on the cover, readers might notice there’s one major fashion magazine element missing: the models. The glossy has declared the issue a “model-free zone,” instead choosing to outfit “real” women — including CEOs and academics — to wear designer labels. Editor-in-chief Alexandra Shulman stated that she made the decision because “there is still a stigma attached to clearly enjoying how you look and experimenting with it if you are a woman in the public eye and not in the fashion or entertainment business.” Shulman wants to shake the idea that an interest in fashion is frivolous.  Pret-A-Reporter

Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing the real models, just not the young, privileged wannabe’s (Kendall, Hailey, Gigi…)! Mixing real with “fantasy” is okay (Cindy Crawford), just not real with “plastics” (Kendall). Does that make sense?  I want someone I can relate to. Someone real.

I know that publishers rule when it comes to what goes in a “product,” NOT the “editors.” Editors are the figureheads, that’s all. I know this because I started out as a reporter after college and the things I learned turned me away from the industry. It’s not pretty by any stretch of the imagination. My experience was on a much smaller scale then something like Vogue, but the bigger the players, the higher the score and “tampering” to meet the goals of a very elite minority. Last time I checked doesn’t the majority rule? Ha! Not hardly!

The thing is, I have young nieces and I don’t want them to get caught up in all this falseness and  lack of attainability. Hell yeah, I want to take them shopping and share the latest gossip, but the question is, at what price? They need to be able to differentiate between reality and fantasy and yes, still have fun with it. A fine line. I want to have fun with fashion and see the latest trends, but I’m my own person and I know that what works for one may not work for me and that’s okay. I guess that’s what I want my nieces to know. In high school I risked my health with unhealthy diets and in college spent money I didn’t have so I could have the latest and greatest. Not cool.

Anyway, I applaud British Vogue for doing this even if it is a one-time deal. Let’s get back to some sense of “normality” and to more of what is real.

Having a blast with “Midnight Facials!”

20160703_22234420160703_223028

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

